Board of Commissioners

Our President and Commissioners

The Forest Preserve District is governed by a seven-member Board of Commissioners, which translates the open-space needs of county residents into ordinances designed to protect and enhance natural areas and support general operations.

DuPage County contains six districts. Voters elect one commissioner from the district in which they live. The seventh member — the president — is elected by the county at large by popular vote.  



Forest Preserve District President Daniel Hebreard

President Hebreard


Daniel Hebreard was elected at-large to the Forest Preserve District's Board of Commissioners in 2018. Hebreard holds a bachelor's degree with honors in parks and recreation management and a master's in business administration and formerly served as a ranger for the organization. (Read Full Bio)


District 1 — Commissioner Marsha Murphy 

Marsha Murphy


Since becoming commissioner for District 1 in 2002, Marsha Murphy has helped guide efforts to acquire lands that provide wetland mitigation and flood-control management, important issues to her constituents. (Read Full Bio)


District 2 — Commissioner Jeffrey Redick 



Jeffrey Redick was appointed to the Forest Preserve District’s Board of Commissioners for District 2 in December 2014. Prior to his appointment, Redick served as an ethics advisor for the agency. (Read Full Bio)


District 3 — Commissioner Linda Painter



Linda Painter has been a Forest Preserve District commissioner since 2008. She has been instrumental in acquiring 89 acres of open space in District 3, including at Waterfall Glen Forest Preserve. (Read Full Bio)


District 4 — Commissioner Tim Whelan 



An active member of the community, Tim Whelan joined the Board of Commissioners in December 2012. He is a member of organizations such as the Knights of Columbus and the Wheaton Lions Club and is a committeeman with the Milton Township Republicans. (Read Full Bio)


District 5 — Commissioner Mary Lou Wehrli 



Before becoming a Forest Preserve District of DuPage County commissioner in 2012, Mary Lou Wehrli served as co-chair of DuPage Neighbors for Open Space, Clean Water and Clean Air, where she worked in 2006 to successfully promote the District’s $68 million referendum. (Read Full Bio)


District 6 — Commissioner Al Murphy 

Al Murphy


As a lifelong resident of DuPage County and an avid outdoorsman, Al Murphy has a keen interest in the Forest Preserve District of DuPage County. He believes his passion to make green space available and accessible, as well as his political and business experience, have prepared him to serve on the District’s Board of Commissioners. (Read Full Bio)